Hungry Hungry Hippo

You know sometimes I like to deviate from my usual beauty posts and this is one of them, you see I’ve been sooooooo hungry lately, insatiably hungry like need 3 dinners hungry. This is really weird for me cause I don’t usually get that hungry. I don’t eat breakfast till I get hungry at 11.30 then don’t bother with lunch & then have some sort of snack in the afternoon & then have my dinner. I know this is probably really bad but I can’t eat if I’m not hungry & I just don’t have a huge appetite, well until now. I am pretty sure it’s because it’s moving into winter & it’s been so freaking cold, I think it’s my body’s way of storing fat for the winter, little does my body know I have enough fat stored already & I am not living in a cave.

Anyway my roomie Kiki discovered these amazing recipe books called Hungry Girl, what is so amazing about these recipes is that they turn your favourite high calorie foods into low calorie versions. They have 6 recipe books & we have 3 of these, Hungry Girl 1-2-3 The Easiest, Most Delicious, Guilt-Free Recipes on the Planet; Hungry Girl 200 under 200 200 Recipes Under 200 Calories and Hungry Girl 300 Under 300 300 Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner Dishes Under 300 Calories.

Be warned, these books are American so there is a severe lack of recipes with vegies and lots of recipes involving Cool Whip but I love these for making a guilt free version of your favourite ‘junk’ food, I just wouldn’t use the recipes every day. Some of my favourite recipes are big fat blueberry muffins (147 cals), sweet ‘n chunky chicken salad (145 cals), sweet caramelised onion dip (74 cals), chicken fajita lettuce cups (190 cals), lean bean ‘n cheese enchiladas (187 cals) 14-carat cupcakes (133 cals) & fruity vanilla snack mix (103 cals).

So you can see, very American but oh so delicious and so much better for you than store bought snacks or takeaway, we ordered our books off Amazon or you can grab them at the Book Depository. Hungry Girls also have a free email newsletter that you can sign up to for a daily dose of Hungry Girl’s tips & tricks, plus recipes and more! Or if you don’t want to do that, go to their TV show page (unfortunately not shown in Australia) for a small selection of their recipes. I really wish I’d known about these books when I was actually living in American cause of all the delicious, fatty American food, I managed to put on 10kgs while living there, though thankfully I have now managed to lose all the weight I put on.

You can all thank me later for introducing me to these delicious, low cal recipes.

Leave a Reply

