On Report

So my skin is unpredictable & troublesome at the best of times, I suffer from pigmentation, sensitivity, oiliness, eczema & acne rosacea. FUN TIMES!

But these 2 weeks, my skin has been even worse than usual, my eczema has gotten extra itchy & dry, my skin has gotten oilier & my skin has broken out in acne rosacea on my face, neck & body. God I am sexy.

So in an effort to help cure & heal my skin, I am putting it on report. It is getting a strict detoxing from new products that I have been using & we are going back to basics to find out what it is that is triggering all these problems. Now if this doesn’t work, I will have to go back on Medication (either Minocin or Aldactone) but I’d prefer to do it without medication because that really isn’t sustainable long term & I worry about the long term effects.

Facts about my skin:

  • I had really bad acne as a teenager & was put on Roaccutane (best thing I ever did), luckily I didn’t end up with any acne scars but it has left me with enlarged pores.
  • My skin is really sensitive & will break out into acne rosacea if it is irritated or I am stressed. So if you think you have acne & you use acne products but it just gets worse, you might have rosacea like me.
  • My skin was excellent when I was on the contraceptive pill, unfortunately I am prone to migraines & when I am on the pill, I get them weekly. Not fun.

So I am overhauling everything I am currently using & this even includes my laundry detergent & fabric softener as I have heard that these can contribute to skin problems.I will continue to use some of the things I am currently using if I have used them before with no problems & will slowly be introducing products back into my face & body skincare routine to find out what products are causing the problems.

Old Routine

Left fCetaphil Oily Skin Cleanser, Pure Fiji Hydrating Multi Active Serum, DermaDoctors Poetry in Lotion, Bio-Oil, Pure Fiji Coconut Milk Shower Gel White Gingerlily, Seraki Coconut Oil Ocean Breeze, Reniu Coconut Body Lotion*

Face

Cetaphil Oily Skin Cleanser: Pretty sure there is no issue with this as I have been using it for ages without any problems. Think I will continue using it.

Woolworths Microfibre Face Washer: I had used this a couple of years ago with no problems but my skin seemed to be ok then. I have a feeling the friction of it might be too much for my skin so will be cutting it out

Pure Fiji Hydrating Multi Active Serum: Another product I had used a couple of years ago with no issues with as there are no irritating ingredients in it. But I will err on the side of cause & cut it out for the time being but will introduce it back in later on.

DermaDoctors Poetry in Lotion: This helped clear up my rosacea but then it got really bad again, will stop using it until my skin clears up & then will add it back in as it shouldn’t really affect my skin.

Bio-Oil: My skin seems to like this stuff & cause it keeps my skin hydrated, it seems to help the rosacea breakouts heal more quickly & not leave any marks behind. Will keep using this.

Body

Pure Fiji Coconut Milk Shower Gel White Gingerlily: This shouldn’t be aggravating my skin as it’s so gentle but will cut it out to make sure.

Reniu Coconut Body Lotion: I’ve used & loved this for years, one of the best moisturisers for my skin, will continue to use this.

Seraki Coconut Oil Ocean Breeze: Normally my skin love coconut oil because of the anti-bacterial properties it contains, this one does contain fragrance though so will pause on this for a bit.

New Routine

Cetaphil Oily Skin Cleanser, Ego Azclear Medicated Lotion, BioOil, 100% Organic Pure Virgin Coconut Oil, Cetaphil Restoraderm Skin Restoring Body Wash, Cetaphil Restoraderm Skin Restoring Body Moisturiser*

Face

Cetaphil Oily Skin Cleanser: Will use morning & night as per usual

Ego Azclear Medicated Lotion: I went looking for a product called Finacea Gel which is a topical treatment for Rosacea that is only available on script in most countries (except for Australia for some strange reason) but then I saw it only had 15% azelaic acid & was $25 whereas the good old Azclear was $8 & contained 20% azelaic acid. I don’t even know why I stopped using this in the first place, its a god send but you can only use it at night.

BioOil: Will continue to use during the day as it sits well under my mineral make-up (which I will be going back to instead of liquid foundation)

Pure Fiji Hydrating Multi Active Serum & DermaDoctors Poetry in Lotion:  I’m going to follow Dr. Baumann’s directions where she recommends you mix your retinal product in with a serum. I’m not going to do this till my skin has cleared up though.

Body

Cetaphil Restoraderm Skin Restoring Body Wash: I saw this new body wash & thought it looked good, it was developed for people with Eczema-prone skin & is supposed to help soothe itchy, dry skin, while restoring moisture as it gently cleanses. It’s also soap-free & has skincontains skin-nourishing oils that nurture dry skin and help to replenish the skin’s natural barrier.

Cetaphil Restoraderm Skin Restoring Body Moisturiser: This is the matching body moisturiser & helps to relieve dry, itchy skin. It’s a light, non-greasy moisturiser that provides intense hydration & nourishes skin.

100% Organic Pure Virgin Coconut Oil: Will be using this at night so I can grease myself up.

I’ll be updating each week on how my skin is progressing & what products it seems to like & not like. Hope this is helpful for other people out there that has sensitive problem skin.

*Please excuse my crappy photos, my camera is at work so had to take these on my phone.
5 thoughts on “On Report

  1. My boyfriend has super dry, sensitive, eczema-prone skin. One of the best things we’ve found was switching our washing powder to one that is unscented and designed for sensitive skin.

    I’m the same as you with the pill and migranes. Sucks considering how much the pill cleared up my skin. ):

    • Doh, I meant to put that n the thread that I also swapped laundry detergent as part of the detox. I was using Fab detergent & Snuggie fabric softener before but I heard good things about Amo-Lin detergent so I have switched to that.
      What detergent is your boyfriend using now?

  2. ugh, eczema! no fun! good luck on your mission yas 🙂

    ps. i swear by aveeno skin relief moisturiser for my eczema…

  3. Pingback: April Empties « One Fine Star

  4. Pingback: Pure Fiji Serum

Leave a Reply

