My Fickle Skin

I don’t know where to start with my skin; the main problem I have is that I suffer from Rosacea, which means my skin suffers from rosacea breakouts, redness and sensitivity. On top of that, I also have pigmentation problems & a skin type that swing between being dryer than the Sahara Desert the to having more oil than Texas.

I decided to re-read The Skin Type Solution by Dr. Leslie Baumann

This time I’ve been diagnosed as a OSPT which means I am Oily, Sensitive, Pigmented & Tight (it means no wrinkles, get your mind out of the gutter).

In her book for this skin type two of the products she recommends are Australian brand Ego’s Acnederm Facial Wash & Medicated lotion. I was a bit scared of these products as usually anything designed for acne skins just irritates my skin makes my rosacea breakouts even worse.

I decided to put my detective hat on & discovered that Ego Acnederm Medicated Lotion contains 20.0% Azelaic acid. I’ve heard awesome things about Azelaic acid for rosacea & acne skins so have been wanting to try it for ages but had had trouble trying to find products containing it in Australia.

Ego has changed the packaging of the old Acnederm products & changed the names but the formula seems to be the same. It’s now called AZclear Action Medicated Lotion & AZclear Action Foaming Wash.

Azclear Action Foaming Wash

I was a bit worried that this cleanser would dry out my skin and irritate it but it is a very gentle self-foaming wash that is ph-balanced and antibacterial to control acne & rosacea. It leaves my skin feeling soft & clean with no irritation. WE HAVE A WINNER!

Azclear Action Medicated Lotion

Azclear Action medicated lotion contains Azelaic acid 20.0% which has anti-bacterial, anti-inflammatory, and exfoliating properties and it is also effective against hyperpigmentation and melasma.

I heard heard of people experiencing sun sensitivity & the sensation of itching on the face when using products containing Azelaic acid but I have not experienced any of that with this product.

I only wear it at night as it does feel a bit like you have dried glue on your face & can ball up, but to me it’s totally worth it as it has significantly cleared up my skin.

While my skin is still not completely clear, I have read that it can take up to 6 weeks for Azelaic acid to take full effect & I have been using it for about 4 weeks now but even if this is as good as it gets, I will still continue to use it as it has still made more of a difference than any other product I have used so far.

9 thoughts on “My Fickle Skin

  1. HELP HELP HELLLLLP !!! today i trolled every chemist/beauty dept looking for your recommended products.WITH NO SUCH LUCK *The perils of living out of a major city*

    where o where shall ilook now? any beauty websites that carry them?

    signed sadface 😦

    • Hi Lisa,
      Do you have a Chemist Warehouse near you? that’s where I got mine at, otherwise most major chemists should have it. It can sometimes be hidden on the very top or bottom shelf in the fickle skin section, not the normal skincare bit. It also may be packaged as Acnederm not AZclear (that’s just the old branding, but same formula).

  2. Hi Yasmin

    I’m interested in purchasing this product – from what you’ve said it sounds very promising!

    Would you say it removes foundation? Or would you use another cleanser if you wanted to remove makeup/foundation?

    • Hi Sandra,

      I would advise using a make-up remover before the cleanser to maximise the product’s anti-bacterial properties. It’s a self-foaming cleanser (which is great for sensitive skin as the friction of rubbing cleaning on skin to get it to foam can be irritating for sensitive skin) so it’s not a dense cleanser.
      I just use alcohol-free baby wipes to take my make-up off then i use this cleanser afterwards in the shower & leave it on my skin for 30 seconds.
      Hope that helps!

  3. Oh my god! Ive been looking everywhere for reviews on this!
    I happened to stumble across some info about Azelaic acid and remembered seeing this in the Pharmacy…thanks sooo much for this! I might pick up the lotion today.

    • No pobs poppet! I am also thinking of getting some Azelaic Acid from Skinactives.com to make my own, that way I can use it on my body as well to kill dermadex mites.

    • I really like your blog. Its so good. Anyways I have acne, well had because now I’m using benzac AC cream and it works wonders, but as I jsut discovered my little tube of heaven tests on animals I’m going to give it the flick. Anyways I was looking at a review for this skincare range, because they don’t test on animals and here it is. Can you give me an update on how it worked, or is still working? The cream I am looking at. It would be so helpful. Thanks a lot, my emails: princess_541@hotmail.com

      • I’m not using the range anymore as my skin tends to get used to a product so I am always trying new products. Azelaic acid is very effective against acne so I would definitely give it a try, it also is a lot more gentle on your skin than benzoyl peroxide. The AZclear lotion was also the only product I could readily find in Australia that contained Azelaic acid.

Leave a Reply

